TodayJanuary 23, 2022

Chris Arcus, Saba Motors, at the 2010 NAIAS

2010 North American International Auto Show (NAIAS), Detroit, MI – Chris Arcus is the director of electrical engineering for Saba Motors. Saba is competing for the X-Prize.

Saba has a small electric roadster with a lithium-iron phosphate battery. How safe is that battery? Saba’s cars are lightweight,  less than 2,000 pounds, which allows it to go further on a charge. A smaller, lighter eletric car means a smaller battery pack, resulting in shortened recharge times.

About the carbon-zero roadster:

Zero pollution vehicle: 100% plug-in electric vehicle

high performance: 0-60 in 5 seconds 105 mph top speed

low operating cost: <$0.03 per mile typical fuel cost

Inherently low manufacturing cost, easy to scale vehicle design

Employing proven motor technology: 40,000 plus in use

available in late 2010!

Lou Ann Hammond

Lou Ann Hammond is the CEO of Carlist and Driving the Nation. She is the co-host of Real Wheels Washington Post carchat every Friday morning and is the Automotive, energy correspondent for The John Batchelor Show and a Contributor to Automotive Electronics magazine headquartered in Korea. Hammond is a founding member of the Women's World Car of the Year #WWCOTY, and board member of the Women in Automotive.