TodayApril 16, 2022

Emanuele Pirro, ALMS audi race car driver

Emanuele Pirro, Frank Biela and Marco Werner made history by becoming the first drivers to win the Le Mans 24-hour race with the Audi R10 TDI (turbo direct injection) diesel-powered car.

Pirro has enjoyed nine times, out of the ten he has raced, on the podium. He is the oldest driver of his group, and helps Audi pick the new drivers.

Listen as Pirro talks about Audi and diesel, racing and his family.

Lou Ann Hammond

Lou Ann Hammond is the CEO of Carlist and Driving the Nation. She is the co-host of Real Wheels Washington Post carchat every Friday morning and is the Automotive, energy correspondent for The John Batchelor Show and a Contributor to Automotive Electronics magazine headquartered in Korea. Hammond is a founding member of the Women's World Car of the Year #WWCOTY, and board member of the Women in Automotive.